School Logo


The Local Governing Body of St Mary's CE School


ODBST (Oxford Diocese Bucks Schools Trust) is governed by a Board of Trustees who is responsible for overseeing the management and administration of ODBST and all the academies run by it including St Mary's. The Trustees are accountable to external government agencies including the Charity Commission and the Department for Education for the quality of education they provide. They are required to have systems in place through which they can assure themselves of quality, safety and good practice. As St Mary's is a Church of England school the Trustees are also accountable for ensuring that the academy provides an education of the highest quality within the context of Christian belief and practice. In order to discharge these responsibilities the Trustees appoint people who are locally based to serve on a local governing body which has been established to ensure the good governance of the school.


The strategic functions of the governing body are ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction: holding the Head Teacher to account for the educational performance of the school, its pupils and the performance management of the staff: overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.


The governing body is made up of 12 members and with the exception of the Head Teacher governors all hold office for a period of four years.


On conversion to an academy within the ODBST on 1st April 2020 all governors’ terms of office came to an end. All were reappointed as members of the Local governing body at that time and it was agreed that the expiry date of the original term of office would be observed to facilitate orderly succession planning.



Contact the Governors